In America We Just Call it a Sausage: A (Culinary) Recap of my Trip to England

Lest you suspect that I wrote one entry and gave up, fear not, dear reader (hi, mom)!  I’ve just returned from a jaunt to jolly old England for a just-shy-of-two-weeks trip with two of my wonderful college roomies. We did our own bit of cooking, but for the moment I’ll just share a couple pictures of things we ate but didn’t prepare ourselves. English food is generally given a bad rap as overcooked and flavorless. I have to say, though, that pub grub is fairly palatable after a long day of sightseeing–especially when you eat it at Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, the former haunt of my main man William Butler Yeats.  I love how snooty and British the sign out front is–oh, you were rebuilt in 1667, huh? Aren’t you steeped in tradition! Well, yes, actually–this is where  Samuel Johnson lived in the eighteenth century, where the Rhymer’s Club formed in the 1890s, and where many other canonical writers like Dickens bought their pints.  Perfect for an English Lit nerd like me:

Foodie Paradise? No. Awesome anyway? Yes.

Foodie Paradise? No. Awesome anyway? Yes.

I had the Bangers and Mash, which is essentially sausage and potatoes smothered in a beefy, oniony gravy:

Bangers and Mash

Bangers and Mash

Eleanor was kind enough for one day to forego being vegetarian and order a Cottage Pie so that I could try multiple dishes at once.  Cottage Pie, which you might also know as Shepherd’s pie, is true stick-to-your-ribs meat and potatoes fare, guaranteed to induce a midday nap:

Cottage Pie

Cottage Pie

They may not have been the most flavorful or sophisticated dishes, but they were really satisfying, especially when paired with a pint of wheat beer. We finished the meal by sharing a plate of sticky toffee pudding, which I intend to replicate on a date soon to follow.

On the last day of my trip, the girls and I traveled to Kent, where we visited Leeds Castle and saw a performance of Shakespeare’s  A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  They served some tasty treats that were a little more flavorful, a little less bar foodish, and, to my delight, a lot more goat-cheesy, like this tart that I had for lunch:

Apple, Stilton, and Goat Cheese Tart with Creme Fraiche and Sweet Chili Sauce

Apple, Stilton, and Goat Cheese Tart with Creme Fraiche and Sweet Chili Sauce

So, for the time being, I leave you with some of my culinary memories of London and its surrounding towns; more adventures in the kitchen to follow.

Leave a Reply

